Skip to main content

WTA Tour

The BNP Paribas Warsaw Open is a professional WTA Tour event. The WTA Tour comprises over 50 events and four Grand Slams, spanning six continents and nearly 30 countries and regions with a global audience of over 700 million.

Founded by Billie Jean King in 1973 on the principle of equal opportunity, the WTA is the global leader in women’s professional sports.

The WTA is one of the world’s most recognisable and high-profile sports organisations, consisting of more than 1650 players representing approximately 85 nations. Tennis players compete to earn WTA ranking points and prestigious tournament titles.

The ranking points earned at the BNP Paribas Warsaw Open are added to the Race to the WTA Finals.

Based on the final standings of this ranking, the season’s top eight singles players and doubles pairs qualify for the masters tournament, the WTA Finals, held at the end of the year.


From the legends who paved the way, to the future generations who will define tomorrow, the WTA provides opportunity for individuals to be the best they can be on and off the tennis court.

  • We exist to champion women to compete fiercely and live fully.
  • We Empower.
  • We Bring Together.
  • We provide a World-Class Platform.
  • We are the WTA.